The Capitalist Cares Stock Portfolio

So I decided that, since I talk about it so often, I might as well show you my portfolio. The link I’ll post below is a direct link to the Google Doc that I use for my own stocks. I buy / sell through ShareBuilder, but I found that they don’t figure in sale commission into their own profit calculations, and once you sell it removes the stock from all equations entirely. I didn’t like that. So I started putting together my own system. This system keeps track of all profit / loss, portfolio-wide, and as long as you never delete a sheet, you can track the total profit / loss forever, and use one investment to cover the losses of another, and get an idea of total portfolio value.

Currently you’ll see that my value is in the negatives. This may appear bad for someone who’s sitting here with the hubris to talk about finances, but it’s actually just plain math. I spent money to purchase stock, and in those instances you are starting in the negatives, not at 0. The first step to profit is finding your break even point, the next step is finding the point where you can cash out with shares left over. From there, you can get your risk out, and let the rest build up as much as you want.

CHECK OUT THE PORTFOLIO HERE!

One major thing you’ll notice is that I’m heavily invested in only a single stock. That goes against all the advice on diversification, and I’m well aware of that. I have faith in the stock, though. It has a proven track record. I also have a back up plan, which includes BAB and INTC, which you’ll also see in my portfolio. Will I be revisiting TEU? I haven’t decided yet. It’s a very volatile stock, which has quite a bit of risk associated with it, but I can fit it into a 6 months to profit formula fairly cheaply, so I might consider it again.

Leave a Reply

