Maine Governor Disables Large Portions of Online Business with One Signature

So I run multiple websites, and one of the main ways I was monetizing was through Amazon Associates. This isn’t unique to me, it’s a common situation for small online businesses. And in one single day, Governor Paul LePage signed a law that single handedly crippled the profitability of the online business industry.

What did he do?

He signed into law a tax collection law that caused internet giant Amazon.com to shut down their affiliate program for people in Maine. I’m one of a small group of just my friends that all utilized the Amazon affiliate program, which we can no longer do because of this law. Was I making millions? No. But my websites are young, and my company is young. Now, my company is dead, and I no longer have the ability to move forward with those ideas, because there is not another affiliate program of equal quality available to me.

Is there anything I can do?

Yes, there is. You can urge Congress to sign into law the Marketplace Fairness Act. Go to the USA.Gov site, and locate your State U.S. Senators and State U.S. Representatives and urge them to approve the Marketplace Fairness Act.

2 thoughts on “Maine Governor Disables Large Portions of Online Business with One Signature

  1. Pingback: Diversification | Capitalist Cares

  2. Pingback: Capitalist Cares | Alternate Forms of Investing

Leave a Reply

